1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding engraving test

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Well33t, 19 Sep 2004.

1. Well33t

Well33t What's a Dremel?

it's my first time i do engraving on acrylic so i wanna know if i'm on the right way... there is a picture :
    [​IMG]
    it's just a test, but is it ok ? i did it on the back of the sheet and now how do i light it up with leds ? does it will give a good effect just like everyone do on this forum.. ?

2. CYRiX

CYRiX What's a Dremel?

well the FE looks good but either:
    1) you did this on a already broken piece
    2) your broke it during engraving

if its 1 then thats good.

3. Zidane

Zidane What's a Dremel?

looks about right. im pretty much in the same boat, i want to engrave a window in my case, but ive never done it before, so im practicing like mad on just about anything see-through, lol.

keep at it, it will be good to see your finished item :)

4. Well33t

Well33t What's a Dremel?

here is the final result :
    [​IMG]

5. Shadowspawn

Shadowspawn Another hated American.

Looks great! You just need to mound the led's so that they shine down the plastic. Either drill a hole and mount them directly into the plastic (shave off the tip) or mount them at the ends with hotglue or something similiar.

6. Well33t

Well33t What's a Dremel?

you mean that i should drill an hole there :
    [​IMG]
    and put this led ...
    [​IMG]
    does it will be very reactive ?? i just put my leds on the front and it is not a lot... how much leds should i put ??

7. Shadowspawn

Depends on how bright your led's are. Your acrylic is green already, so I would use white led's to get the most light out of them. Polish one edge of the acrylic and hold the led up to it to get an idea of the effect you're going to have before you do any drilling.