You do realise you can set your own privacy settings so friends photos that you are tagged in do not show to anybody else but your friends? You can even set it so the photos only show to yourself. The thing is that, by default, Facebook will allow your friends to see your content. It's up to you to change this to block information that you do not want people to see. The Facebook privacy settings are there for a reason and do a very good job.