1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First installation of a cpu, help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jiffey, 1 Jan 2002.

1. Jiffey

Jiffey What's a Dremel?

I'm in need of an Alpha heatsink for a 1.4 I'm getting. Can someone tell me which model to get and a US site that won't break my wallet to buy from? I'm using a KT7A-Raid, I've heard you have to wedge it in pass some capacitators on this motherboard? Also, do I need to buy arctic silver2 and do all that myself. This is my first time having to put the cpu in myself, so any tips would be much appreciated.

2. Jiffey

Jiffey What's a Dremel?

Ok, looks like I'll use plycon or pcmods. What's the difference between 3pin and 4pin tails for the fan and if I'm using a delta how do I wire it to use a moles connector?

3. Ruffian

Ruffian What's a Dremel?

I suggest the Alpha PAL8045.

www.2cooltek.com

they have them for pretty cheap. You should 3 to 4 pin adapter unless the fan is already a 4 pin or if it already comes with one. You should do this because most likely, the motherboard wont be able to supply enough power to the fan.

4. Evilbob

Evilbob What's a Dremel?

wont he need to put another 3 pin fan on header 1? sum boards wont boot if u dont, isnt the Kt7a one of them?

5. IsaacSibson

IsaacSibson Banned

I second the PAL8045 recommendation. I use one (see sig again).

The KT7A can have the fan 1 protect feature disabled in all BIOS versions since YH, or some early one like that. Certainly for a 1.4GHz Athlon you want to be running 4A or 64.

I use a mechatronics fan, which is fitted with a 3-pin header which only has the monitoring wire connected to it, and a 4-pin connector for its power. Recommended.

6. Will

Will Beware the judderman...

Yep i recommend the Alpha as well :D