1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice First time build, switch on=Legacy boot event?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by alfabet0, 1 Jan 2013.

1. alfabet0

alfabet0 New Member

You've heard this story all before folks it goes.

It's my first time build, all looks good, I boot up my PC for the first time, I get the republic of gamers splash screen Samsung 830 detected and then the following:

Q-Code LEDs read AE for Legacy boot event

I've tried to enter the BIOS but simply keep getting the above, my Samsung 830 SSD is currently in a serial ATA 3.0 Gb/s connector, I've tried moving to the Serial ATA 6.0 to no effect.

Please forgive any stupidity on my part, as I'm a bit sleep deprived at the moment:duh:
    Thanks for your indulgence.

2. thewelshbrummie

thewelshbrummie Active Member

Sounds like it's trying to boot from a HDD without an OS or a DVD drive without an OS disc. Moving the SSD to a different sata port won't make any difference if something else is higher up the boot priority list, the BIOS will remember that regardless. Go into the BIOS and check the boot order - my guess is something else is above the SSD

3. siliconfanatic

siliconfanatic Johny-come-Lately

i remember him saying he cant even get into the bios... maybe try usb flashing the bios?

4. noizdaemon666

noizdaemon666 I'm Od, Therefore I Pwn

How have you tried getting to BIOS? If you're still getting the boot error I would guess you haven't pressed F2/DEL early enough to get into BIOS. That would be my guess at first :)

alfabet0 likes this.
  5. theshadow2001

theshadow2001 [DELETE] means [DELETE]

Try unplugging everything. graphics card, ssd, dvd drive etc. leave the cpu and ram in. Use the integrated graphics on the cpu for the display. Pound the delete key or whatever it is gets you into the bios repeatedly and quickly as you turn on the power. See if that gets you anywhere.

6. alfabet0