1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hardware G.Skill F3-12800CL8T-6GBHK Tri-Channel DDR3

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by Tim S, 29 Jan 2009.

  1. Tim S

    Tim S Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2001
    Posts:
    18,879
    Likes Received:
    76
  2. HandMadeAndroid

    HandMadeAndroid That's handy.

    Joined:
    18 Feb 2005
    Posts:
    740
    Likes Received:
    8
    Quick question....what operating system are folk with i7 cpus and 6gbs of RAM using>? Thakies
     
  3. Guest-16

    Guest-16 Guest

  4. tuaamin13

    tuaamin13 New Member

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using Vista Business x64 for my i7 and 6GB. I'm very happy with the performance. I just wish startup was faster; that's always been a problem with Windows. Is it even multithreaded?

    Just a question, is it rare to get a QPI above 150-160? I'm currently running 200 on air, but every single review I've seen caps their QPI at about that level.
     
  5. The boy 4rm oz

    The boy 4rm oz Project: Elegant-Li

    Joined:
    10 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    5,297
    Likes Received:
    54
    I love G.Skill RAM. I am using it now and have never had a problem with it. It's cheap (relatively), performs well and has a pretty decent OC.
     
  6. dtham

    dtham New Member

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the "G.Skill Red NQ" (G.SKILL F3-12800CL9T-6GBNQ 6GB DDR3 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 9-9-9-24 Triple Channel Memory Kit) I'll take a look to see if they are using the Samsung HCF0s. I just got them and I was wondering how they would perform.
     
  7. outlawaol

    outlawaol Geeked since 1982

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2007
    Posts:
    1,935
    Likes Received:
    65
    I swear by G.Skill stuff, or Corsair (for those budget systems)! :D

    Great review Bit, another job well done.

    :)
     
  8. Guest-16

    Guest-16 Guest

    I expect good motherboards to do a QPI of 200 - it's my benchmark. Above 180 should be a given, unless it's corporate or particularly different (low power or very cost sensitive).
     
  9. Sterkenburg

    Sterkenburg To mod or not to mod...

    Joined:
    2 Oct 2005
    Posts:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm running Windows 7 64-bit right now, and it seems perfectly stable to me! I was having all kinds of trouble with Vista Business 64-bit installing... Like, I downloaded it straight from Microsoft, burned and installed it myself, and it somehow came out 32-bit. I wasn't even sure if that's possible, but evidently it was! Anyway, that sealed the Windows 7 deal for me. No way I'm using half my RAM.
     
Tags: Add Tags

Share This Page