1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SketchUp Had an idea

Discussion in 'Modding' started by james888, 19 Sep 2011.

1. james888

james888 What's a Dremel?

I have never modded/built a computer case before but everyone starts somewhere. I played with this idea I had in Sketch Up and got my idea out. Its not perfect as this is my first time with sketch up but hey, you can see what I was trying to do.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I think it would have great cooling. 2X200mm fans on bottom blowing a ton of air up and forward. Really just a fat atx midtower.

If I did build it it wouldn't be till next summer. Even then I don't know exactly how I would. I know I would need a dremel and possible a pop rivet gun. I have no idea how I would put side panels on it. I did not put feet on in the sketch but would for real. I've read that there are pre-wired power buttons that I will have to look into if I decide to build this.

Any suggestions on what I maybe should do differently?
    Does anyone know a good youtube video or 5 on building?
    I've been watching some mnptech videos already.

2. The_Beast

The_Beast I like wood ಠ_ಠ

Look thought the scratch builds here on bit-tech, ask question on how they did it or how they could improve their own ideas

3. Vetalar

Vetalar *learning english*

building something similar right now... from cardboard :) 90* rotated ATX, HDDs over bottom intake fans vertically mounted. ODD - external for now... only one difference - PSU has separate chamber - there is ADSL modem and Wifi router in here cooled by psu intake fan. can post some SU drawings if You interested.

4. GuilleAcoustic

GuilleAcoustic Ook ? Ook !

Nice start ... but I would rotate your 5.25" device. On your design, they will block the air flow from the 200mm fan under them.

5. Huge

Huge aka Dave