1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics How to connect cables using XLR connectors?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by jnco_analog, 26 Sep 2006.

1. jnco_analog

jnco_analog What's a Dremel?

Hey guys, hope you can help me, I'm a total noob when it comes to electronics. What I want to do is cut the molex cables that come from the power supply and then join them using XLR connectors, like this:
    [​IMG]
    Don't mind the crappy photoshop, it was just to show you what I need to do...

My question is: Is it possible? If so, how? And with the sata power cables is it also possible?

Thank you bit-tech for the great boards you provide us and excuse me for my bad english, i'm from Portugal (F.C.PORTOOO!! :clap: )

2. hujambo_Bwana

hujambo_Bwana What's a Dremel?

It's possible with the power cables, Do you have a good supply of XLR Connectors? You would need some 4 pin XLRs and a soldering iron.

I don't know about SATA cables.

Jimbo

3. LuitvD

LuitvD What's a Dremel?

3 pin SLR is sufficient for normal molex plugs (the one in that picture) for you can join the two ground wires (black ones)
    SATA should be working both with 3 and 4 pins... my psu (cheap one) has 4 leads, of which two are black... so that again leaves 3 pins. Some PSUs have 5 leads towards SATA power connectors, adding an orange wire. My harddisk (Maxtor Diamond Max 10) seems to work with both types

4. hujambo_Bwana

I stand corrected, 3 Pin will do.

5. LuitvD

LuitvD What's a Dremel?

good boy :)

anyways. this has already been done several times, so yes, it is possible :search: look for it on this forum ;)

6. hujambo_Bwana

:search: Second the above

7. Captain Slug

Captain Slug Infinite Patience

All you do is
    1. cut the wires
    2. connect the male and female XLR plug ends