1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Peripherals Is a KVM switch the best solution for me?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by SchizoFrog, 12 Mar 2014.

1. SchizoFrog

SchizoFrog What's a Dremel?

Hi people.

I am a novice when it comes to networking and while I am familiar with some aspects I am a complete n00b in others, as such I am asking for help.

I recently purchased an HP N54L MicroServer (Thanks again for the advice Gareth) and to start I would like to know the best way for me to connect my mouse and keyboard. I have 2 monitors and my TV connected that I switch between using nVidia's driver software on my PC. I would like to connect the MicroServer to my second monitor and then be able to control it with the same mouse and keyboard without physically switching between PC machines.
    I know there are KVM switches but these can be a little pricey and I have also heard that there are software solutions for this such as 'Synergy' (not to be confused with the NAS boxes) or even standard RDP, but I don't know which would offer the best solution for me or how to go about setting them up (although once I decide on a solution Google will become my friend I am sure). :)

My main use for the MicroServer will be to use it as a media server to store all video, music, documents and program set-ups and installs to be accessed by any computers on the network and to possibly handle my downloads, through uTorrent for example.
    I currently run MS Windows 7 Ultimate on my main PC and am thinking of installing that on the MicroServer too although as I mentioned above I am a n00b and so any suggestions would be appreciated.

Please feel free to ask any questions you have to gain a better understanding of my situation and requirements.

Thanks.

2. theshadow2001

theshadow2001 [DELETE] means [DELETE]

If you are just going to be administrating your server how about remote desktop