1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Notebooks Laptop for student coding

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by wsmccusker, 26 Nov 2012.

1. wsmccusker

wsmccusker New Member

I am currently a student and my laptop is rather i'll suited to be taken into uni for work purposes as it is a heavy 17" beast with a failing battery.

The main thing I intend to do on it would be to dual boot linux and do some Java and C programming on it.

I have been looking at prospective machines and I have been distracted by the lust for an ultrabook - so sleek and sexy you know. But I am starting to come to my senses and realise that they are not the best option so I pose a few questions,

- Should I get an ultrabook?
    and 2
    - if not, which processor should I be aiming for?

A friend of mine has trouble compiling code on his netbook with an atom processor but would this be fixed if I bought an AMD machine instead? Should I go for a lower end "ultrabook" with a low i3 processor or should I look fr one with AMD bravos or trinity machines?

2. deathtaker27

deathtaker27 #noob

Rather than processor I would first off look at size and weight, what size screen is best for you.

For example I take my 15" laptop to uni most days, however I want to go down to a 13" as i find it is too big and heavy at the end of the day.

What will you be coding? Will you be running vms for testing various different enviroments?

Hard Drive space?

3. improprietary

improprietary FT03 is a bitch to watercool

alternatively you can use your old laptop as a backend for compiling at home, if the school proxy allows it.

4. wsmccusker

wsmccusker New Member