1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Photos Latest Purchases Thread: v2.0

Discussion in 'General' started by RTT, 29 Oct 2007.

  1. ElThomsono

    ElThomsono Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2005
    Posts:
    2,952
    Likes Received:
    308
    Yeah, I've hit so many key combos I've gotten it into all sorts of weird settings; flashing lights, arrow keys stuck on, the lot.

    I think it's related to it being a US layout keyboard but Windows is probably still thinking it's UK. I'll see if I can sort that later.
     
  2. Arboreal

    Arboreal Keeper of the Electric Currants

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2011
    Posts:
    3,380
    Likes Received:
    530
    Doc, thanks for a welcome change of thread direction.
     
    Byron C likes this.
  3. Vault-Tec

    Vault-Tec Green Plastic Watering Can

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2015
    Posts:
    10,907
    Likes Received:
    1,560
    It sounds really painful LOL
     
  4. perplekks45

    perplekks45 LIKE AN ANIMAL!

    Joined:
    9 May 2004
    Posts:
    6,313
    Likes Received:
    657
    Two bottles of Ardmore.
     
  5. liratheal

    liratheal Sharing is Caring

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2005
    Posts:
    11,396
    Likes Received:
    1,084
    For reasons best left to professionals to work out, I have Metalocalypse in my head now.

    "There's only two things to do in a blackout. Drink. ... One thing."
     
    perplekks45 likes this.
  6. Arthur

    Arthur Comment is over there ----->

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2009
    Posts:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    178
    A Bose Solo soundbar to replace my pc speakers.
     
  7. ElThomsono

    ElThomsono Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2005
    Posts:
    2,952
    Likes Received:
    308
    US keyboard layout fixes this, I get pipe where I should, but then I have to live with " in the wrong place. What a kerfuffle.

    All I wanted was an entry level keyboard to try out mechanical keys, which is exactly what I got, so I'm quite happy with it. Next time I'm piping commands in Linux I'll just use an upper case I, I'm sure the system will be quite forgiving.
     
  8. Gareth Halfacree

    Gareth Halfacree WIIGII! Staff Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    13,403
    Likes Received:
    2,458
    Pfft.

    As a user of often-odd-layout keyboards - hello, IBM Model F from the 1980s - then there's a quick fix: xmodmap. In fact, this might be the only thing you need:

    Code:
    xmodmap -e "keycode 49 = backslash bar bar bar bar"
    
    That's what gives me a proper pipe/bar symbol for Shift-Backslash on the Model F. If it doesn't work for you, all you need to do is find out the keycode for your Backslash/Broken-Pipe key and replace "49" with that. Run xev, then press the Backslash/Broken-Pipe key:

    Code:
    KeyPress event, serial 37, synthetic NO, window 0x5c00001,
        root 0x1dc, subw 0x0, time 829060792, (607,1061), root:(615,1133),
        state 0x10, keycode 94 (keysym 0x5c, backslash), same_screen YES,
        XLookupString gives 1 bytes: (5c) "\"
        XmbLookupString gives 1 bytes: (5c) "\"
        XFilterEvent returns: False
    
    KeyRelease event, serial 37, synthetic NO, window 0x5c00001,
        root 0x1dc, subw 0x0, time 829060898, (607,1061), root:(615,1133),
        state 0x10, keycode 94 (keysym 0x5c, backslash), same_screen YES,
        XLookupString gives 1 bytes: (5c) "\"
        XFilterEvent returns: False
    
    So, on this 'ere Filco backslash is 94, rather than the 49 of the Model F.
     
    ElThomsono likes this.
  9. bawjaws

    bawjaws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    5 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    3,735
    Likes Received:
    501
    Honestly, this sort of thing is the reason that I stick solely to good old fashioned UK ISO keyboards. That way I know exactly where everything is and don't have to fanny about looking for esoteric key combinations :)
     
    MLyons likes this.
  10. ElThomsono

    ElThomsono Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2005
    Posts:
    2,952
    Likes Received:
    308
    Thank for taking the time to post that, but unfortunately these Linux systems are not my own and if I go xmodmapping things around on them all willy-nilly a small number of people will get very upset with me! :worried:
     
  11. Gareth Halfacree

    Gareth Halfacree WIIGII! Staff Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    13,403
    Likes Received:
    2,458
    Oh, so you're remoting in to them from a Windows box? Should be able to use something like SharpKeys to remap the key then!
     
  12. Mr_Mistoffelees

    Mr_Mistoffelees The Cat Lies Down on Broadway

    Joined:
    26 Aug 2014
    Posts:
    2,459
    Likes Received:
    707
    I use a TKL US layout keyboard. Would I be able to map a key I never or extremely rarely use, eg the tilde key to a £ sign, or will it only remap characters present on the keyboard?
     
  13. Gareth Halfacree

    Gareth Halfacree WIIGII! Staff Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    13,403
    Likes Received:
    2,458
    Obligatory "not a Windows user," but as far as I'm aware you should be able to remap to keys not physically present in your chosen layout. You certainly can with xmodmap.
     
    Mr_Mistoffelees likes this.
  14. IanW

    IanW Grumpy Old Git

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2003
    Posts:
    6,917
    Likes Received:
    651
    Given that I've just been told I'll be furloughed from April 1st due to the plague:-
    • A magnifying headset
    [​IMG]
    • A rack for my model paints & brushes.
    [​IMG]
     
    MLyons likes this.
  15. perplekks45

    perplekks45 LIKE AN ANIMAL!

    Joined:
    9 May 2004
    Posts:
    6,313
    Likes Received:
    657
    It is a really relaxed drinking whisky. Perfect for the end-times.
     
    MLyons and liratheal like this.
  16. ElThomsono

    ElThomsono Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2005
    Posts:
    2,952
    Likes Received:
    308
    I've remapped one but it still functions like the existing key - useless junk in a UK interpretation and the correct symbol when Windows is told it's a US keyboard :hehe:

    I guess I need to write my own keyboard for Windows?
     
  17. Gareth Halfacree

    Gareth Halfacree WIIGII! Staff Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    13,403
    Likes Received:
    2,458
    ...that's weird. If it's still acting like it's not remapped, then it's not remapped. Sadly, this is where my knowledge ends: I haven't had to remap keys in Windows since... 98SE, maybe?

    Install Linux. That'll fix it.
     
    IanW likes this.
  18. ElThomsono

    ElThomsono Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2005
    Posts:
    2,952
    Likes Received:
    308
    I've not made myself clear, it's mapped alright, but it's mapped to act like the existing [backslash pipe] key but it gives me the US junk when I press it. Unless I switch Windows to the US layout and then both physical give me pipe.

    I think it's a bit of a moot point, as this keyboard is for home use, and I'm not likely to need that key, were it not for Coronavirus forcing me to work from home. Which could be for three more weeks or three more months, who knows?

    Maybe I'll get a taste for it, which would warrant a larger keyboard, and perhaps an impossible search for the perfect keyboard? That sounds like a fun hobby.

    Or a second keyboard with only that key, hidden under the desk that I can press like a bank teller who's being robbed at gunpoint?
     
    Arboreal likes this.
  19. Gareth Halfacree

    Gareth Halfacree WIIGII! Staff Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    4 Dec 2007
    Posts:
    13,403
    Likes Received:
    2,458
    Remapping means changing what a key does to something else in the keymap; if you've remapped the key to do Backslash-Pipe but are still seeing "the US junk" when you press it, rather than a backslash or a pipe, then you haven't remapped it. (Or, rather, Windows is ignoring the fact you've tried to remap it.)
     
  20. ElThomsono

    ElThomsono Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2005
    Posts:
    2,952
    Likes Received:
    308
    I changed the "open menu" key that sits between Alt and Ctrl, now it gives me either # or | depending on the windows keyboard...thing. I dunno the term for that but it's certainly changed its function?
     

Share This Page