1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Photos Latest Purchases Thread: v2.0

Discussion in 'General' started by RTT, 29 Oct 2007.

  1. bawjaws

    bawjaws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    5 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    3,925
    Likes Received:
    645
    That looks pretty nifty. I couldn't function without a numpad so I could see how that would come in very useful if you were one of those "small keyboard" aficionados!
     
  2. Almightyrastus

    Almightyrastus Rule #9

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2002
    Posts:
    5,757
    Likes Received:
    438
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Now to work out how to get the doorbell fitted and the two talking to each other. THe hub should be easy, but the Doorbell needs some wiring and a wired doorbell with at least 12v power (most seem to be 8v which is annoying).
     
  3. David

    David Take my advice — I’m not using it.

    Joined:
    7 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    3,051
    MX Browns too :)
     
    adidan and MadGinga like this.
  4. perplekks45

    perplekks45 LIKE AN ANIMAL!

    Joined:
    9 May 2004
    Posts:
    6,686
    Likes Received:
    882
    I picked up my LCD-X as mentioned here.

    870 Euros in repair costs. That hurt. But writing them off would've been about double that, so.....
     
  5. IanW

    IanW Grumpy Old Git

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2003
    Posts:
    7,072
    Likes Received:
    760
    If you have a mains socket near where the doorbell is going, Amazon have a wall wart for the Nest Hello.
    I did similar when I fitted a Ring doorbell. :thumb:
     
  6. wolfticket

    wolfticket Downwind from the bloodhounds

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2008
    Posts:
    3,151
    Likes Received:
    339
    Maybe a little DC-DC step up converter would be work?
     
  7. Byron C

    Byron C And now a word from our sponsor

    Joined:
    12 Apr 2002
    Posts:
    6,574
    Likes Received:
    1,475
    This article says that Nest Hello needs 11-30V AC, so a DC step-up won't work :(.

    That is interesting however, since it seems to be designed to replace existing wired door bells... which is exactly what we have. I already have custom CCTV looking over the garage and another camera at the front door would be handy. If it wasn't £230 and a Google product then I'd be tempted!
     
  8. Almightyrastus

    Almightyrastus Rule #9

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2002
    Posts:
    5,757
    Likes Received:
    438
    I have the wiring going to the existing doorbell that I can use, but it could do with moving a little and I need to swap out the bell box with a transformer and wired bell. Shouldn't be difficult as there are power sockets nearby and the consumer unit is just through the next wall. Just going to need a little drilling, filling, and making look pretty again afterwards.
     
  9. Mr_Mistoffelees

    Mr_Mistoffelees is not The Piper at The Gates of Dawn

    Joined:
    26 Aug 2014
    Posts:
    2,845
    Likes Received:
    916
    Hmmm, that's about what my Focal Elegias cost new...

    I considered LCD-2s (closed back) but, ruled them out on weight grounds, about 50% heavier than the Focals.
     
  10. perplekks45

    perplekks45 LIKE AN ANIMAL!

    Joined:
    9 May 2004
    Posts:
    6,686
    Likes Received:
    882
    Yeah, they're heavy. But the sound quality is divine.
    I compared the LCD-X and LCD-XC back in the day and I haven't looked back. But I don't think I'm the person to ask about sensible spend on headphones in these parts. Price performance ratio is something I've actively ignored in audio equipment for a while.
     
    Mr_Mistoffelees likes this.
  11. David

    David Take my advice — I’m not using it.

    Joined:
    7 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    3,051
    [​IMG]
     
    adidan likes this.
  12. adidan

    adidan Guesswork is still work

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    16,192
    Likes Received:
    2,855
    Oooh shiny pricey.

    I really need to set up a proper nas, i'm just too tight :happy:
     
  13. Vault-Tec

    Vault-Tec Green Plastic Watering Can

    Joined:
    30 Aug 2015
    Posts:
    11,769
    Likes Received:
    1,838
    Grab an old junker and put FreeNAS on it. It's ace.
     
    adidan likes this.
  14. adidan

    adidan Guesswork is still work

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    16,192
    Likes Received:
    2,855
    It had crossed my mind tbh. :thumb:
     
    Vault-Tec likes this.
  15. David

    David Take my advice — I’m not using it.

    Joined:
    7 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    3,051
    I've done both home built and off the shelf. Home built options are as varied and customisable as you want them to be, but I'm not a great fan of most of the NAS OS options out there, and they rarely do it while being small and quiet without throwing frankly stupid sums of money at them. This the first off the shelf unit I've seen, within my budget, that ticks every box I want.

    It was also... weirdly satisfying to pay £453 for it (I had some vouchers).
     
  16. bawjaws

    bawjaws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    5 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    3,925
    Likes Received:
    645
    That NAS looks like a small microwave :D
     
    David likes this.
  17. David

    David Take my advice — I’m not using it.

    Joined:
    7 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    3,051
    If I can warm up a pie in it, that'll be another box ticked! :D
     
    Vault-Tec, Byron C and bawjaws like this.
  18. adidan

    adidan Guesswork is still work

    Joined:
    25 Mar 2009
    Posts:
    16,192
    Likes Received:
    2,855
    I should get off my bum really.

    I do have a matx am3 board kicking around, even got my 1366 kit around but i should really sell that and get a small not so power hungry little kit.

    But then i always have things on my to do list first and other ones seem to make their way on there so it never goes down, probably why i've toyed more with picking up a small two bay off the shelf.

    It's always satisfying to spend vouchers though. That jigsaw i got was 50 quid on prime and i forgot i had £30 in certificates in my account :thumb:
     
  19. David

    David Take my advice — I’m not using it.

    Joined:
    7 Apr 2009
    Posts:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    3,051
    The worst of it is that, now I've bought a replacement, I'll find my old one - In a place I swear I've searched several times before.
     
  20. bawjaws

    bawjaws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    5 Dec 2010
    Posts:
    3,925
    Likes Received:
    645
    But then you'll have a spare!
     

Share This Page