1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics Looking for a small 5v to 12v motor for a case door?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by blue_lawnchair, 8 Jun 2005.

1. blue_lawnchair

blue_lawnchair What's a Dremel?

I am rather new at this but what I am look for is a small motor,(my PSU can run), that would open and close a door on my case I am building. One that is similar to a CD/DVD tray motor is about what I need, one that opens when you push the button and closes when you push it again, any help on what kind I need and where to buy one would be very helpful, thank you for your time.

2. Ghlargh

Ghlargh What's a Dremel?

you could actually rip the whole thing out of a CD-rom, you should be able to get one free from a friend, or maybe you have some shitty ones lying around?

There are lots of CD-roms that are either too slow or too worn out to be useful, but the tray opening usually works fine. The older the better, the older ones can usually be opened even if you rip out the reader assembly.

You might have to make a new controller if you don't want to have to use the large board from the CD-rom

3. theshadow27

theshadow27 What's a Dremel?

car seat motor, runs at 12v and has built in liniar actuator, online for about $20. you would have to build the control circut with limit switches yourself. to get exactly what you are discribing would require a industral grade L.A. which (with controler) runs $8000-$9000

4. blue_lawnchair

The CD-Rom was something I had thought of but was not to sure it would work. Also the motor from the car set sounds a little more interesting than my original idea. Where would be the best place to fine the parts to build the control curcuit. Thanks for all the info.

5. blue_lawnchair

If you remove the motor and board from the CD-ROM woudl it still work the same? You know, stop at a certain distance and retract back like normal?

6. Ghlargh