1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

News MP calls for MMO crimes to have real-life punishments

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by Gareth Halfacree, 25 Jul 2014.

1. Gareth Halfacree

Gareth Halfacree WIIGII! Lover of bit-tech Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

2. Stotherd-001

Stotherd-001 Minimodder

Eve would suddenly get a lot less - or more - interesting.

3. Corky42

Corky42 Where's walle?

I'm no lawyer, but how is theft of other digital "work" dealt with. i.e if someone hacked into a company and stole the only copy of some digital work, or caused other forms of damage.

Point I'm probably badly trying to make is, isn't theft and hacking already punishable by the legal system ?

4. Margo Baggins

Margo Baggins I'm good at Soldering Super Moderator

That's firstly computer misuse act before it's anything else, and they would probably start with that. Most things are computer misuse act, accessing things you shouldn't etc. I don't know where digital theft falls, I assume you can get done for it. I am no lawyer either :) just speculating.

5. Gareth Halfacree

Gareth Halfacree WIIGII! Lover of bit-tech Administrator Super Moderator Moderator