1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding my big summer project

Discussion in 'Modding' started by notatoad, 21 Mar 2007.

1. notatoad

notatoad pretty fing wonderful

i'm gonna build a server this summer to run backups, fileserver, mythtv backend, etc. so i got thinking about what case to put it in, and i've decided i want to gather all my computer stuff into one case. this means printer, router, desktop pc, server, chargers for my mp3-player and cell-phone, my big box of wires and little parts, and a place for an xbox if i buy one in the fall. here's my quick sketchup rendering (all dimensions are way off, the whole thing is completely out of proportion):

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

i plan to have fabric, like you get covering speakers, running all the way around the computer compartment for good ventilation. i don't think the build should be too hard, i have lots of experience working with wood. i might try to get something fabricated out of alu for the mobo tray/hd mount. the hard part is going to be the wiring, especially if i want to be able to slide out the pc without unplugging everything first. lots of extended power supply wires and spring loaded wire spools, i think.

Last edited: 21 Mar 2007
  2. Mr-IK

Mr-IK Member

Hm, i think this could be a funny project, but it seems a bit unlogical to me? Why do you wanna gather everything in one big case :eek:? It would be a cool idea to do, if you had the different things split up in boxes you could take out anytime...

3. Mathmarauder

Mathmarauder New Member

That seems like a very good idea to me, especially if it looks like a speaker.

4. notatoad

yeah, you're right, it's not the most logical thing. however, i don't see myself ever needing to separate them. i don't game too much, so i won't be going to LAN parties or dragging my computer somewhere else. that's what laptops are for.