1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Displays Need new monitor ASAP and still on the fence with HP LP2475!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Whitesky, 5 Oct 2009.

1. Whitesky

Whitesky Minimodder

Some of you may remember I had some build threads up a few months ago, as well as asking about the HP LP2475W monitor.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824176104

Well for $540, I'm still on the fence about getting it. Except now, I NEED a monitor immediately. My build is up and running well, but have to sell my current PC/monitor, which means I need a new one within a week, which means buy+shipping... now.

I am a web/graphics/video/photo designer, who also plays high-end games - making things more complicated as hardly any monitor does both design vs gaming well. (Usually better design monitors have horrible response time)

Looking back on reviews I've been reminded about just how many apparent problems this model has sometimes - color shift, bad text, some say it's not good for editing videos, horrible sRGB simulation. $540 is already the max I can pay, but is there ANY OTHER alternative I should consider? I've been reading reviews but nothing yet has caught my eye.

I Need:
    1920x1200
    IPS, not TN panel (for design & good color reproduction)
    5-6ms Response time max (for gaming)

Or should I just take the plunge and get the HP.. ahh!

2. Shadowed_fury

Shadowed_fury Minimodder

2209WA. IPS.
    22" mind.

3. Kyocera

Kyocera The Garden of Evil

Similar to HP LP2475W is Dell U2410, however the performance is lower and the design with price higher.
    The HP monitor is astounding, and the producer has solved their production issues by now,.

4. Whitesky

Whitesky Minimodder

I just looked up that Dell 2410, seems quite nice.. although only place I could find it was at Dell's own website :(

Any info, links or retailers?