1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice New Gaming PC build advice - Budget £1400

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by margy, 13 Dec 2011.

1. margy

margy What's a Dremel?

Hi guys,

Im building a PC mainly for use with BF3 on ultra settings and MS Flight on ultra settings. With a £1400 Budget I am quite flexable but here is the spec I have come up with so far.

Case: Coolmaster HAF X

GPU: Asus 1500MB GTX 580

Motherboard: Asus Maximus IV GENE-Z, Intel Z68, S 1155, DDR3, SATA III - 6Gb/s, RAID SATA, PCIe 2.0 (x16), VGA On Board, Micro ATX

CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K Unlocked, S1155, Sndy Bridge, Quad, 3.3GHz, HD3000 IGP 850Mhz, 6MB Cache 95W Retail

RAM: 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600), Unbuffered, CAS 9-9-9-24, XMP, 1.50V

SSD: 128GB SSD (internal)
    1TB External Disk drive

Im relatively new to this so any advice would be appreciated!

Monitor: Asus 27" LED 2ms refresh Grey to Grey

2. Farting Bob

Farting Bob What's a Dremel?

Do you plan on using much Liquid Nitrgen in your cooling setup? If not then your wasting money on such an expensive motherboard. You could spend less than £100 and get a Z68 board that performs exactly the same with all the same features that you will actually need.

Also, you wont need 16GB of RAM. 8GB (2x4GB) will be more than enough for any gaming rig in the next few years. RAM is cheap, but its still wasting money.

That monitor, if im looking at the same one (a model number would be handy) then its a cheap TN panel screen. If you are that bothered by paying all that money for ultra-mega super settings in BF3 then get a better quality monitor. Something of the IPS variety.

What SSD do you plan on? Prices and speed vary greatly from model to model. Crucial M4, Corsair force 3 and Force GT are excellent drives for their money.