1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding New Ideas for security??

Discussion in 'Modding' started by funkymunky, 8 May 2003.

1. funkymunky

funkymunky Guest

Hey Every1.....
    Im new to this whole modding thing!
    Im looking for ways to stop my family using my computer, which is based on a Antec Plusview1000 with the lockable front door, this just isnt enough, because its only a plastic hinge, and its been broken into once already!! :miffed:
    I thought maybe i could use a solinoid lock, like the onces used on cars but i wouldnt beable to get one that would fit right, and i dont really want to have to put loads of holes and stuff every where :D

Have you guys got any ideas????????

OOOO almost forgot to add something.....

YOU GUYS ARE WICKED!!!!!!!.... Your mods are sooo cool!!, i need to get myself a dremel :dremel:

2. Dad

Dad You talkin to me?

Welcome to the best and most fun board! :D

Why not just buy a computer power lock? They're not that expansive and are very simple to install.

3. linear

linear Minimodder

Welcome to the boards.

The classic, elegant in its simplicity, is the good old keyswitch installed in line with the power button. With the keyswitch open(off) the button is deactivated--it can't turn the peecee on or off.

If keys aren't really your thing, any old switch would server the same purpose, just disguise it.

4. Dad

Dad You talkin to me?

Yea, that's what I ment.... :D My brain musta froze up when typing.

5. funkymunky

funkymunky Guest

i thought about that, but my sneaky little brother is too clever, something that i could change like a lock or a code or something similar would be brilliant.... i thought about getting a fingerprint mouse but he could just remove the harddisk, or format the unit.........

6. Dad

Dad You talkin to me?