1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New OC'er with e6600 and evga 680i mobo

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by fohkus, 18 Dec 2006.

1. fohkus

fohkus What's a Dremel?

hey guys i just have a couple of questions.. im still pretty new to overclocking but its never too late to start right? I've tried reading different articles but its not as easy as just reading and learning so I decided to try it myself and see how things go. First off i have a e6600 cpu and evga 680i mobo. Im also running a pair of corsair xms2 ddr800 2gs running on 4 4 4 12 with 2.1 volts. Currently I have my processor running at 3.375ghz @ 375 bus speed. It seems pretty stable.. i was able to play cs and fear constantly without problems. I also ran orthos beta for over 10 hours without a hicup and temperatures do not exceed 50c on full load. My question is, ive been reading a lot about the 1:1 divider for cpu and memory and was wondering if someone can explain this concept to me? What are the benefits of running on 1:1? For me, I was only able to get 1:1 by lowering the memory speed from 400 to 375 so that it would be on ratios with the fsb which was at 1500. So does this mean that my memory is just running slower? Is that a good thing or a bad thing since its kept in a 1:1 ratio? Because the only way I can get my memory to run at 800mhz is if i raise my fsb to 1600 right? That'll be too much of a OC for my cpu. Any replies would be great thanks :)

Last edited: 18 Dec 2006
  2. trig

trig god's little mistake

i get a little confused about this myself, so ill be interested to see the replies. but one quick way to know if you are running 1:1 is to look at cpu-z...it will tell you.

3. dragontail

dragontail 5bet Bluffer