1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice New rig (£800) - suggestions needed!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kaz1989, 4 Mar 2011.

1. kaz1989

kaz1989 New Member

Hi everyone,

I know you guys get this asked a lot, but I need your suggestions for my rig as this is my first build! I have pretty much made my build, but would just like some feedback/it checked over before I buy it next week!

Budget: £780-£830
    Main uses of intended build: Gaming, some AutoCAD and 3D StudioMax rendering for my Civil Engineering course, and general internet browsing and watching films.
    Parts required: Base only.
    Monitor resolution: Will be gaming on a 1680 x 1050, but might increase my monitor size later this year.
    Storage requirements: Greater than 250Gb would be nice.
    Will you be overclocking: Yes, but the first time :geek:
    Any motherboard requirements: Must be Revision 3!

[​IMG]

The above amounts to £800 after free delivery :thumb:

Do you guys think I should spend extra for an SSD for a boot drive, are they worth it?

Thanks.

2. MrGumby

MrGumby CPC 464 User

Looks pretty good. You could save £12 and go for the Antec True Power 650w psu only £59.99 on today only and maybe up the cooler to the Gelid Tranquillo around £26. Cools my 2600k @4.5ghz in the same mobo, all be it the 1st revision to 68c and is pretty quiet.

3. james-milligan

james-milligan Member

That looks like a pretty good build to me! I agree with changing the cooler to the gelid tranquillo though. Are all the rev-3 boards in stock already? 0.o

4. Dae314

Dae314 New Member