1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Newbie - PSU advice required for new AM3 build

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Neonhalo, 21 Mar 2010.

1. Neonhalo

Neonhalo Generic 250w Grey PSU

Afternoon!

First-time poster here with a quick question about choosing a PSU for my new build. If I've missed anything out, don't crucify me just yet - I'm still learning! :D

Right, so I suppose I should start with the basics. I've decided I want to build a new gaming/multimedia PC, as my current rig isn't really cutting it for me any more (AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+, 2gb DDR2 800, broken X1900GT 256mb). It was my first build, and at sixteen years of age I didn't have the money to buy top-end parts so had to settle with *shudder* B-grade.. I know, I know, bad idea. Squealing motherboard caps remind me of that every day.. :duh:

Anyway. This is the planned spec for my new PC:

Mobo: Asus M4A79XTD EVO
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 945
    RAM: Corsair XMS3 TwinX 4GB (2x2GB)
    ODD: Scavenged from my old PC
    HDD: 1 x 500gb 7200rpm, 1 x 160gb 7200rpm (both scavenged), possibly 1 x 1tb 7200rpm
    GPU: nVidia 9800GT Green 1gb (Got it for free, will be upgrading to an ATI 5850 soon after build :D)
    PSU: ??? (See below)
    Cooling: Stock for now, moving to Coolermaster Hyper 212+ soon enough
    Case: Coolermaster CM690 Dominator II Advance

Sound good so far? I've spent months going over reviews to find exactly what parts I would want. The only thing I haven't set in stone as yet is the PSU.