1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Peripherals Noisy keycaps or switches on mechanical keyboard?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by silk186, 14 Aug 2019.

1. silk186

silk186 Derp

I have a Royal Kludge RK61 with brown\\\ and the keys are really noisy, even when not bottoming out. I can put the rubber bands on but I don't think it will help. When I took all the keys off to lean them I noticed they are incredibly light. Not a surprise as I picked it up for £22 in China so I don't have any complaints. Otherwise, the build quality is good and I've been using it for over two years. I might even upgrade to the Cherry version for a whopping £35 the next time I visit, or pay a bit more and give up backlighting for an AKKO 3084. The keys are very loose to the touch and have a bit of wobble. Would this be improved with heavier caps or is it stems that is the source of the noise? Would Cheery switches be quieter?

To be clear, it isn't the click sound of the key being depressed or bottoming out. Even tapping the keys (without depressing will make a lot of noise).

[​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

Last edited: 14 Aug 2019
  2. silk186

silk186 Derp

Hmm, I was afraid of that. I'm not going to replace all the switches because of the time and cost of the switches and tools, none of which I have. Do you think that the noise is down to the switches alone or are there other factors to consider in a future upgrade?

3. silk186

silk186 Derp

They are not cherry browns, which is why it was £22. This is my third £20ish Chinese mech. I wanted to see if I like a 60% keyboard and the build quality before spending more for Cherry switches. The RK61 offers Cherry switches as well for £35 if you buy it in China.

4. GeorgeStorm

GeorgeStorm Aggressive PC Builder

3rd £20ish keyboard, why not just buy a known good one in the first place? :D