1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cooling Noob question about installing a fan

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Threefiguremini, 30 Sep 2009.

1. Threefiguremini

Threefiguremini What's a Dremel?

Background:
    Right, in the near future I'll be attempting my first ever build so I'll probably have a load of noob questions to ask (this being the first :)). As this is my first time I thought I'd make life simple for myself and pick out hardware based on Bit-Tech's suggestions. So I've gone for the CM HAF 922 and bought an extra side fan (antec big boy).
    Questions:
    1) I assume as this is a fan on the side of the case I want it sucking in?
    2) To get it to suck in is it just a case of mounting it one way round or the other?
    3) The fan didn't come with any screws and my case doesn't seem to have any screws that will fit, any ideas?
    I had a search through the forums and couldn't find an answer so I hope this hasn't been asked before. Thanks:thumb:

2. DragunovHUN

DragunovHUN Modder

Yes, yes, and buy some fan screws.

3. Threefiguremini

4. Threefiguremini

Don't know if I'm missing something but I just tried lining up the fan with the case and it's not even close to lining up with the holes. What am I doing wrong? I assumed it would work as it was recommended in the last What Hardware? review. :confused:

5. DragunovHUN

DragunovHUN Modder

Pics? You probably bought the wrong size fan.

6. Threefiguremini

7. Motoko

Motoko What's a Dremel?

have you tried turning the fan round? the size should fit

8. Threefiguremini

I've tried it every way I can think of, I even measured the fan to make sure it is 200mm. Dunno what to do now apart from maybe trying to screw it directly to the mesh, not sure if that would work though.

9. Motoko

Motoko What's a Dremel?