1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Not paid for work done

Discussion in 'Serious' started by Strudul, 16 Jan 2014.

1. Strudul

Strudul ~

The situation...

I worked in sales over the summer and used to get paid weekly, on a Saturday / Sunday, 2 weeks in arrears.

I wasn't on a salary, but instead how much I earnt was determined purely by how many sales I got. I would make a sale, fill in the paperwork, hand it in, then get paid 2 weeks later by bank transfer.

While I was still working there, I was told that after I left any outstanding pay would go into a retention account for 90 days to cover any sales that didn't go through for whatever reason.

I wasn't paid at the weekend of the week I left, so I went away expecting 3 weeks pay in 90 days time.

90 days passed and I didn't receive anything. I waited another week or two and still nothing.

I tried messaging the manager and received no reply.
    I tried emailing the office (with a delivery and read receipt that came back successful), but no response.
    I asked some of my colleagues who left at the same time as me and they are having the same issue.

Now, the problem is that I never signed a contract... nobody did. but at the time I was just happy to be getting any money at all. (Yes, I realise how fishy this sounds.)

Honestly, I can't say I didn't see it coming, but is there anything I can do about it?

Any help / advice would be appreciated.

Cheers

2. VipersGratitude

VipersGratitude Multimodder

If it was commission only then you would have been classified as an independent contractor (If you're an employee then you need to be paid minimum wage). This is going to make you liable for your own Tax and NI payments. So the first question you should ask yourself is - is it worth the hassle?

3. Strudul

Strudul ~

It was commission only.

AFAIK, I wouldn't be liable for income tax and NI because I didn't earn enough. (?)