1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics PC activty LED

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Hmm_nick_Hmm, 13 Jul 2003.

1. Hmm_nick_Hmm

Hmm_nick_Hmm What's a Dremel?

Hey i'm a noob to modding but not to electronics. i had an old battle ship type game taht i took apart. when ever u got hit a little acrlic etched with a small explosin would light up . The explosian sort of looked like a heartbeat moniter . so i want to take out the old green Led and put in this little explosian / heartbeat. since i am a noob to all of this are there any tips i should be aware of) just post to let me know! thanks in advance for you welcomes) :thumb:

2. malcs

malcs oops! i put a hole in the ***** :(

erm sounds quite simple really just cut out the piece of acrylic then cut a hole in the front of your PC, then solder the led from the explosion to the HDD activity LED cable first taking off the green LED then ur go!! :D

3. malcs

oh yeah welcome to the forums :D

(2nd welcome today :D)

4. M_D_K

M_D_K Modder

Can i do a bit of Thread hijack here still on the HDD activity

If i was to string up say 5 leds how would i get them to all flash at the same time [for the HDD activity] would i need to make some sort of cercuit

Thanks

5. whypick1

whypick1 The über-Pick

nick, cpemma's site has a schem that does just about the same thing (Scroll down to "blinking LEDs").

MDK, you'll most likely need to use an optoisolator. An optoisolator is a IC package that's an IR LED and a phototransistor. HD signal from mobo drives LED, and the light from the LED acts as the base for the transistor inside. Besides that, you'll need two resistors, one to set the input voltage for the LED and another to set the output voltage on the transistor. I'm sure someone else can recommend a specific p/n to use.

6. malcs

erm couldnt you just wire the leds in parallel? :worried: :worried:

7. Splynncryth