1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding Pc...linux

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Cereal, 14 Mar 2004.

1. Cereal

Cereal What's a Dremel?

OK, i am looking to build a linux based pc, and i am a newb to the whole "LINUX ERA" so, from what i have read, some games...hardware and other stuff dont work with certian versions of LINUX...I am really looking to run Slackware on this system, so if anyone has that, can you give me a heads up to what you are running, and what doesnt work...also, does anyone have a screen shot of some of the stuff in slackware LINUX, i was wondering about the layout...ok, i gtg, so just wondering.

2. loply

loply What's a Dremel?

Hmm.

Theres a lot for you to know. #linuxhelp on undernet or something is a good point of call.

3. ajack

ajack rox

The look of slackware depends on which gui yopu decide to run (there are a few of them) The normal choice between kde and gnome, both of which are customisable so you can get it looking pretty much the way you want.

The games that have a nix version work :) (Otherwise you could use wine) And as for hardware, I've had better experiences with slacky/manny than I have with windows in some cases, hardware support is good

4. Cereal

Cereal What's a Dremel?

ok, thats good news, but still, even though the whole desktop seems customizable, can someone please post a screen shot of their slackware desktop....just so i can get an idea, even though it may mean nothing....

5. Xen0phobiak

Xen0phobiak SMEGHEADS!

in terms of gaming, i've never managed to get hardware opengl support installed under linux (i normally use redhat when i do, but have tried mandrake and suse aswell), apparently nvidia cards are better for their linux opengl support.

6. x3r0

x3r0 What's a Dremel?

I'm not sure if ati cards even support linux drivers as of yet ?
    i dont own an ati card so i wouldnt know.