1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Project $0 scratch build *Finished!*

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by -equilerex-, 6 Nov 2006.

1. -equilerex-

-equilerex- What's a Dremel?

*Done*
    [​IMG]

------------------
    Heh, been coming on this site for a long time but this is my first post, really nice site you got here :)

Ok, as for the introduction, im a student with no income, all the cash i get is either my lunch and gas money from my parents or some earnings from summer jobs (i live in a small place and there isn't much year-round jobs in here)
    So, a greedy person like i am, i would never spend big amount of cash on making my pc look nice. Yet, i like handcraft and i see casemodding as one of the best ways to practice it.
    For my luck, i have lots of useless stuff at home, so on one cold evening somewhere last winter, i started with my mod.

ive had the concept ready since i first found casemodding several years ago on metku mods, so i was going to put it into practice without using any money, hell, even my camera was a cheap cellphone(sorry about that) :naughty:

unfortunately, i have lost the first few photos, i will take some shots of the tools used later though.

basically, i took a sheet of aluminum i found in our private junkyard, cut out a piece that fit my hardware and wrapped it around a propane tank using cargo straps, then cut a wooden base from plywood and cut a hole for the rear panel.

this is what i had then:
    [​IMG]

next, the barrel straps- marked holes with a dremel, drilled and then used rivets
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

as the base got really out of shape, i first used paper to get the right top shape
    [​IMG]

used electric jigsaw to gut a really scratched aluminum diamond plate thingie
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

then i started with waterblock- gut a heatsink smaller
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]