1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Project: Dragon's Fire

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by tom1189, 25 Aug 2005.

1. tom1189

tom1189 New Member

Ok this is my first project, decided to do it for basically a time filler. OK ? Then i'll begin.

21/08/05 It begins !

Went to Aria today and picked up a arianet midi case for the tidy some of £17,

Weather was good today so started of out side 8)

[​IMG]

Nicely protected

[​IMG]

Front

[​IMG]

Side view

Take a good look because this case will never look the same again !

Lets get started, first i drilled out the pop rivets holding the top on with my trusty dremel copy. I then cut out the fan grills using a pair of snips and started to smooth the edges with a sanding drum.

[​IMG]

Its naked ! :eek:

23/08/05 Front Panel

An unexpected update but ive just been sat here bored out of my skull so i decided t make a start on the front panel to give a better idea of what im going to do with the mesh.

[​IMG]

The white area is the are to be cut

[​IMG]

Nothing put acuracy for this project ! 8)

[​IMG]

Didn't take much care with this as i dont realy need to due to the wonders of car body filler :). Isnt shown is this picture but ive removed all the rough melted plastic with a knife and its all alot clearer. This gap is where my mesh will go sat on the lip ive left in, i will then apply car body filler in vast quantitys and sand it all smooth.

24/08/05 The Morning

Paint arrived, unfornatly we have normal summer weather in manchester today

[​IMG]

24/08/05 The afternoon !

The weather improved dramatically, so heres the next update.

Im using war hammer chaos black paint, it leaved a wonderfull matt black finish and drys incredible fast, i was able to cut two coats of paint done in an hour with it.

[​IMG]

Everything almost preped

[​IMG]

First Coat

[​IMG]