1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Project: Half-Life 2 Supply Crate Rackmount

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Croc, 11 Sep 2008.

1. Croc

Croc What's a Dremel?

Quick Description: For this case mod, I plan to build a portable 8u rackmount case (like an a/v flight case) modeled after a half-life 2 supply crate to hold 3 x 2u cases (homemade), a gigabit switch and (oneday) a 1u pfsense based router (for now the smallest it can be is 2u). If successful, I plan to build another crate to hold my 4u storage server and my 4u primary pc.

[​IMG]

About Me: I am a college student at the University of South Florida (Go Bulls!) in my second year of their Master's of Architecture Program. In addition to Architecture, I am a php/mysql web programmer, and the server admin for a LAN Party at my University - Overkill LAN - Promo Vid.

Hardware: To be rackmounted :naughty:

Blackmesa (Main PC)
    -Intel Q6700, 8gb, Nvidia 8800gts 512, 120gb Raid 0, 40gb Raid 1
    -Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit

Whiteforest (Fileserver/Sagetv Server)
    -AMD Athlon X2 BE-2400, 2gb, Raid 5 4x400gb = 1.1tb;
    -Dreamspark Windows Server 2008 (Thanks MS!)

Citadel (Router)
    -Via C7 1.2 Ghz Fanless, 1Gb
    -Pfsense (Based on FreeBSD)

City17 (Webserver/Public LAN Party Fileshare [for patches])
    -PIII 733mhz, 512mb, 200gb
    -Freebsd

Ravenholm & Novaprospkt (Render nodes/Gameservers)
    -Q6600, 2gb, 80gb
    -Server 08 HPC Edition (Trial).

Other Computers you may see

Borealis (Virtual PC)

3.5 yearold Laptop (Studio email checking)
    -1.3ghz celeron m, dying keyboard, racingstrip screen.

really old 700mhz Celeron pc. (old citadel).