1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Project MPB [Jan 11]

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by ReFredzRate, 9 Jan 2003.

1. ReFredzRate

ReFredzRate Relix Headshot!!

Hey guys, you just might remember project Helios.
    Here is project MPB for you to enjoy! It's an MP3 player, but... it's DOS based. Just got out the Intel Pentium 120 from under my desk, blew off all the dust and hacked a hole into the side. Window will not be fitted yet, because I am thinking about spraying the rest of the case as well. The front bezel has been sprayed white... On the pics the white of the bezel looks like it really is, but the rest of the case still is grayish. Anyone got some ideas what else to do with it?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: 11 Jan 2003
  2. iSteve

iSteve What's a Dremel?

DOS based ? FOOOOOL! Make it linux based!

3. ReFredzRate

well... thnx for the comment :waah:

I have limited Linux experience and DOS runs fine here. So... just using MPXplay to decode and play the songs :)

4. :: kna ::

:: kna :: POCOYO! Moderator

That's ok, iSteve is always insulting. :eek:

But, he is right.. I built an MP3 playing system and had much better luck in terms of performance on a linux box.. have a hack about in the Linux subforum in Software and see if you can get some information on an easy install.

5. NiHiLiST

NiHiLiST New-born car whore

Yeah, I've used Linux, but however easy the install, it's not as easy as DOS :) And DOS is perfectly acceptable for an MP3 player in my opinion. Has some great aspects like the boot time is insanely small and it doesn't need to be shut down, just powered off.

6. ReFredzRate

I agree with NiHiLiST (love typing the name ;) ), but the actual OS isn't going to be an issue before the case is finished...

So, anyone up for some design brainstorming?

7. NiHiLiST