1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Project: Orbitoid *updated*: 3/19/07

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by metarinka, 13 Mar 2006.

1. metarinka

metarinka What's a Dremel?

Hello all Time to get started on my second big project. My first Angry-9 has been permanently benched due to some hardware issues, and money. No doubt I will finish it but right now the focus is on my new project Orbitoid.

The latest update can be found on the second page here. orbitoid update

For the longest time this project was nameless. It vaguely ressembles orbitoid from one of my favourite comics the perry bible fellowship the PBF

[​IMG]

about me: I'm in my final year of my welding and fabrication degree and after that I'm moving on to welding engineering. I have an entire class devoted to a custom project. We have to design and build anything we want. What's better than class credit for modding? I'll even be getting some sort of letter grade, the only catch is that I have to pay for the majority of my materials save for scraps and welding consumables. Our school has one of the best welding programs in the nation which means I have a few million dollars worth of tools at my disposal and some of the best welders in the country train and teach here. suffice to say if it's possible to weld up or fabricate we'll know how to do it

The plans:
    The Complete designs are a closely guarded secret not because I think anyone cares but I'm constantly reviewing the sketches and drafts for part are constantly changing so even now I'm reviewing about 6 different designs for the legs and I can't build the res until I install the rad (more on that later). If you want to look hard enough I've posted a picture or two on other websites.
    [​IMG]

The design so-far.
    [​IMG]