1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Project: Rolltop

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Cyric, 26 Jul 2004.

1. Cyric

Cyric What's a Dremel?

Introduction:

First things first...Hello, I'm a noob! I've been looking aroung this board for sometime with grand ideas, and less than stellar ability. However, I recently got my hands on a POS Dell and thought...Great excuse to play around!

So here's my first project log. It's not 100% thought out, so any advice or suggestions are welcome.

Mission:

To integrate a PC into an hierloom rolltop desk with as little damage to the desk as possible. The biggest trick will be to make it so I can swap the little Board for a full size ATX at some point.

Okay, so this is what I have to work with:

Celeron 2.4 Ghz processor
    -Based on the 0.13 micron Northwood core
    -400MHz FSB, 8KB L1 cache and 128KB L2 cache running at core speed (256-bit L2 cache bus)
    -Socket 478
    Dell 2400 Mother Board
    Dell PSU
    512MB Corsair + 256 Dell Memory
    Sony CDRW
    WD 40GB Hard Drive

Dell No Name Mother Board
    [​IMG]

This is the only written info on the board (Check the purple pointer...I did get a 512 Mb PC3200 Value Select RAM!)
    [​IMG]

Dell PSU!! 200W !!!
    [​IMG]

The wires that needed to be extended were:
    1. Fan
    2. Power Switch, power LED and HDD activity LED
    3. Main Power
    4. 12v cord
    5. Extra Intel thing

So after a little clipping, cutting and stripping...
    [​IMG]

My shrink wrap was for crap, and I couldn't find electrical tap...So Tadda hot glue! (kids, please do not try this at home)
    [​IMG]

And here are the results of the test fitting:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The wires will end up behind the cubbies (I think that section can be pulled out seperatly, I hope).
    I will more than likely make a plexi/acrylic front to enclose the portion of mobo that sticks out past the enclosure.

2. KillaH