1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PSU PSU Wattage question - HELP!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by nm007, 24 Feb 2009.

1. nm007

nm007 What's a Dremel?

Hey guys, i've got a problem staring me right in the eyes. I'm building a new system and i'm down to the last two parts (the PSU and mobo). The problem i have is the plethora of so-called wattage calculators that have given me numbers anywhere from 350W-1200W! This, as you can imagine, complicates the decision greatly. The machine does heavy graphics work (im a graphic artist) and some light gaming. And to complicate things, i'd rather have a modular or partly modular psu. However, i'm not married to it if there are inherent problems with the modular options (it'd just be nice to use only what you need). Here is what i've got for it now:

XFX nForce 780i 3-Way SLI Motherboard - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 Processor 2.66GHz
    (i haven't gotten this yet but it is what i'm going after, just so you can see the mobo/processor)
    Nvidia 9800gtx+ black edition
    4x 2GB OCZ DDR2
    Coolermaster V8 CPU heatsink (runs a 120mm fan i believe)
    1 Seagate 7200 RPM 1TB drive
    1 Seagate 7200 RPM 250GB drive
    LG 22x DVD R/W Drive
    three LED 120mm fans
    all wrapped up in a coolermaster atcs 840 chassis that has 3 230mm fans and an additional 120mm fan (plus it's periphials panel, but i'm not sure if it draws enough to worry about)

Lets assume the possibility of later expanding to one or two more large drives (1 TB realm) and possibly another vid card running SLI. The later is less likely due to issues running dual monitors, but i will probably up the storage space in near future.