1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Photos Rugby Photos

Discussion in 'Photography, Art & Design' started by Lynx, 13 Jan 2009.

1. Lynx

Lynx What's a Dremel?

Was taking some photos of the first rugby match of term today. Its my first time shooting rugby, what do you think?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: 13 Jan 2009
  2. fathazza

fathazza Freed on Probation

i like number 3 the best tho the lack of focus in the bottom of the photo is slightly distracting...

ps. the guy in the first photo is a big jesse!

3. julianmartin

julianmartin resident cyborg.

#3 is very good yes.

Rugby is difficult to photograph as it's so hard to know when is the right moment to catch - and of course you need to be on all sides of the field to get the best shot! good effort though, would love to see more.

4. Jumeira_Johnny

Jumeira_Johnny 16032 - High plains drifter

I'm not sure why people are liking #3..I mean I know why Fathazza does, but it's just a shot of asses in a scrum. What is there in the image that makes it good?

Now #1 has potential. But why did you crop his elbow off? and his foot? a slightly wider angle would have given it more context with without the distraction of missing body parts.

Number 2, TBH, is meh.

But #4...this I like. It has personality. I like the crop and the facial expressions are great. It's not an action shot, but more of a personal moment. Well done here.

and 5 is back to meh. 2 and 5, simply don't have anything of interest in them. and 3 is butt shots, luckily for fathazza.

I would suggest looking at the sports pages of high quality newspapers and rugby magazines. look for trends in angles and action points. Learn to follow the game with your non shooting eye (yes keep them both open) and anticipate what will happen.

5. yakyb

yakyb i hate the person above me

6. trigger

trigger Procrastinator