1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Networks Should I change my Netgear DG834G v3?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jcrider, 26 Oct 2014.

1. jcrider

jcrider Minimodder

All,

NetGear DG834G

- Where I live I get approximately 2Mbps speed.
    - I have also had this modem router for almost 6-7 years.

However, looking around I like the new wireless AC routers which are out.

I'm not an expert in the field but know enough to get things up and running. So, should I change my Netgear DG834G v3 router for something newer?

The only advantage I can think of would be the wireless range as nothing I own (yet) uses AC wireless.

I should be grateful for your thoughts.

Thanks,

JC

2. Pookie

Pookie Illegitimi non carborundum

Changing your router would as you say only give you better features and improved Wi-Fi. I doubt you would gain any significant speed on you broadband. I say go for it and can highly recommend the Netgear DGN2200 V4. Ace little box :thumb:

3. jcrider

jcrider Minimodder

Thanks Pookie, I appreciate the fast feedback and added suggestion for which device to look at.

I was spurred into looking at my router after casually glancing through the ASUS products. Do you have any experience or suggestions for these, or any other wireless AC router?

4. Pookie

Pookie Illegitimi non carborundum

Sorry bud I only use Netgears and Drayteks. I would avoid Zyxcel as I have found them to be pretty naff. Plenty of others here will vouch for the Asus kit though :thumb:

5. jcrider

jcrider Minimodder

Ok, thanks again for the fast replies :)

6. Fingers66

Fingers66 Kiwi in London

I have an Asus RT-N66U, the wireless range is fantastic and I have tried a few other modern routers (NetGear & Cisco). I can't speak highly enough of the Asus range.

7. jcrider

jcrider Minimodder

Thank you for the suggestion. It looks a great router!