1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Sorry another custom build advice topic

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by 4D1, 14 Nov 2010.

1. 4D1

4D1 What's a Dremel?

Hi Guys,

I am sure the most common topic from noobs on here is which one should I get, but your advice would be greatly appreciated.

I am hopefully going to have some money available shortly and would like to invest in a custom PC... I have looked around and being as I do not understand what half of the benefits and features are I can't decide what build to go for. I am part way through a degree in software engineering and I am self taught in VB, C++, XHTML, CSS, PHP5+ so the rig will be used for developing stuff in all of these languages, I am new to hardware but I may decide to delve deeper in the future so I would like a rig that can be overclocked or upgraded in the future should I decide to. And finally I would like a rig that can handle graphics and games, as I will occasionally play games and I might decide to get into rendering at a later date.

I have a budget of around £1000.00, but I am not too concerned with sticking to it, if for an extra few hundred quid I can get something much better and more future proof, then I will save to get it, so the budget is flexible.

Thanks in advance

2. woody_294

woody_294 Wizard Ninja :P

To do the former (coding) I'd recommend a simple i5 or Phenom X4 computer, but for rendering and 3d work I'd say go for an LGA 1336 i7 setup for the memory bandwidth.

Any particular reason you don't want a Mac? For that kind of money you could get a nice one :D

Having said that it would be easier to game on a Windows PC.

3. thelaw

thelaw What's a Dremel?

Why say sorry, if we were not happy to offer the advice there would not be a option to choose "BUILD ADVICE"

4. 4D1

4D1 What's a Dremel?