1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spider-Man Box (For my 4 year old) UPDATED: 1-14-05 Fanduct, and window finished!

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Nitro_APBT, 7 Jan 2005.

1. Nitro_APBT

Nitro_APBT SpiderModder

Hi All,

This is my first project Log here.

Who, what, when, why?

OK, I wanted to give my 4 year old son a computer for Christmas this year. I had already replaced my MB, CPU, RAM, HDD, Case, PS, and most everything but my video card. I was going to paint up my old case, slap all my old stuff in, and give it to him for christmas.

Dec 3rd, I got rear ended at about 55 MPH, totaled my truck, and was out of work on doctors orders for 2 weeks. No new video card for me, no computer for my son. Got the insurance check for my truck, but still not enough money to replace my vid card...

So Christmas comes, and goes.... We make the best of it even though money's very tight, and I've been off work for a couple weeks. I stumble apon an ATI 9700 Pro AIW on ebay for a steal, so I pick it up day after christmas.

Day after that I get strep throat.....

Here we are a week later. I've scratched the idea of using my old case, mainly because it's an ugly POS, that can't be modded into anything decent. I already cut the window, and painted the chassis black, but oh well.. it's done.

I have an old NEC 9716 that my mother in law gave me for some reason.... TO MOD IT SEEMS!!!!!

Here's a few before pics
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Now, it was originally a Pentium 200MMX with a whopping 3 gig HDD, etc etc.. Obviously outdated for even a 4 year old.

Hmmmm, now how in the world am I gonna get an ATX motherboard in there?

We'll deal with that later. Today I'm just working on the face.

Step 1: Make the detachable grill area permanent, and get rid of the holes.

Not much to see here, just epoxied the grill piece on
    [​IMG]

Next, bondo up the holes from rear first, then front