1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress The Bear 2007-2011

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Demolisher, 26 Feb 2011.

1. Demolisher

Demolisher Bear building modder

Well lady's and gentleman, here we go.

First of, let me introduce myself.
    I am Stephan from The Netherlands. And this wil be my log of the computercase The Bear.
    At 22 years of age, I work in a hospital as a radiodiagnostician. (I make the funny pictures :) )

As the title says, The Bear is a ongoing project, stretching all the way back to 2007.
    What is The Bear you ask me? Well, it is a enormous computercase build up from one of the biggest cases that where around in 2007. Thermaltake introduced us to the first Armor series. The VA8000B series.

The case was, together with the Cooler Master Stacker, one of the biggest cases of that period.
    But, for what I had in plan with it, it wasn't big enough.

I wanted to fit a 240 radiator inside the case, and still have room for dvd drives and a couple of hd's. There was just not enough room in it, so the first mod was made. Instead of breaking things down to create some space, I build a top where it would fit the radiator and fans to cool the thing. The first Bear was formed.

To illustrate what it looked like, here is it in action on Campzone 2008.
    [​IMG]

Then, in the beginning of 2009, it was time to upgrade.
    A list of components:

CoolerMaster M850
    Asus Rampage II Extreme
    Intell Core I7 920
    Corssair tripple channel 3x2gig 1800Mhz
    Gainward 4870GS 1024Mb
    Gainward 4870GS 1024Mb
    Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB
    Western Digital 750gig green
    Seagate 320gig 2x

for that time, it was a serious gaming rig.
    The processor, motherboard, and vga's would all be water cooled.
    A single 240 rad, dispite being it a Thermochill one, wasn't able to cool it all down by itself.