1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apple the big purchase question

Discussion in 'Software' started by x-rae, 27 Feb 2006.

1. x-rae

x-rae What's a Dremel?

At the moment I'm in a bind. I'm a graphic designer with a pc and a mac mini, but due to work, I need a laptop. The question is this, should I get a macbook pro, the top of the line powerbook, or a pc laptop.

here are my pros and cons:

macbook:
    + new core duo chipset much faster than other models
    - no universal binary versions of adobe products till probably next year
    - price, 2000$+ :waah:

powerbook:
    + have all the software i need to work with no problem
    - will soon be outdated possibly phased out by fall
    - fear companies will only produce ub versions of software

pc laptop:
    + have all software i need to work with no problem
    + also has core duo systems
    - working in mac heavy enviroment
    - not fond of windows at all and vista doesn't impress me that much

this might seem stupid to some but i'm sure i'm not the only one that has come across this issue. right now pc laptop imo is my better option until the end of the year when all this ibook, macbook, universal binaries mess is finally sorted out. any suggestions or thought are helpful. thanks

2. cderalow

cderalow bondage master!

Powerbooks won't be phased out for a while most likely...

next step for dual cores is most likely to be the iBooks... powerbooks are liable to be phased out completely (once universal softwar suites are available..)

also, need will dictate what to get... as of right now, macbooks and the new dual core imacs are 3-4 week backordered

3. x-rae

x-rae What's a Dremel?

yea, i've heard that they are on back order, but i didn't think that long. looking better for pc laptop

4. adam197

adam197 What's a Dremel?