1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – Complete The Free-Case

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by miculago, 15 Feb 2021.

1. miculago

miculago Minimodder

I have a PC project ongoing since summer 2020 and it is still not completed. I was enjoying conventional PC building before, but this is my first build starting with CAD design and external manufacturing of parts. Initially, I did not expect to come that far, so I did not think of a build log but if you don’t mind, I would like to share my progress with all you and document the upcoming progress as well.

It started with a card board mockup.

signal-2020-07-29-150345 (2).jpg

After the initial planning phase I chose the name “Free-Case” as the components seem to be floating free in space and no restriction of a housing are present. One can argue that it is a PC stand, but I prefer the term case.

IMG_20210128_191703_01.jpg

The Free-Case was planned to meet my personal needs. My intention was to create a case reduced to it's minimum functionality, including eliminating restricted air flow patterns of modern cases and allowing the use of full-ATX components. It is designed to be placed on the desk and to allow showing off the beauty of PC components.
    Minimalism resulted in a design with only two parts, the base plate and a back plate.
    The base plate, made of 8mm aluminum is the holder for the motherboard, in sizes of ATX, microATX as well as miniITX and offers cutouts for cable routing.
    The back plate, made of 2mm aluminum holds the I/O shield of the motherboard, offers cutouts and mounting points for traditional GPU mounting and moves the power supply to the opposite side of the mainboard. Power supplies of ATX size can be installed, which eliminates restrictions e.g. of small form factors or any power limitations.