1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding Two guys, a pipe and a potato!

Discussion in 'Modding' started by LaPPe, 7 Aug 2002.

1. LaPPe

LaPPe What's a Dremel?

In these last days of summer off from school I tend to get a little bored, but not this summer!

After finishing high school and all the parties afterwards, a quick trip to France,
    Sailing 50 km in a Kayak and jumping out of a plane from 1000 meters I got a little bored, so my friend and I decided to build a "Potato launcher".
    My friend had heard of this stupid (later funny) thing to do from some friends in Australia so he started searching the internet for this somewhat mysterious phenomenon. Neither he nor I had ever seen such a thing so we had no idea what to expect.

After some time searching the web he came to the conclusion that this probably wouldn't be as hard to make as first assumed although a complete beginner’s guide with pictures was missing.

Here's how it works:

Does it sound easy? It is!

He built his and he was amazed and so was I when I saw it!
    So I had to build my own. As mentioned on several websites there are two kinds of pipes:
    1. PVC-pipes – cheaper and easy to find
    2. ABS-pipes – more expensive, but can withstand much more pressure than PVC.

Apparently in almost every DIY-store I was in they had never heard of ABS-pipes (maybe it’s called something different in Danish?), but one guy told me that I should probably go to a guy specialized in plumbing. First of all that sounded like something that would blow my beer-budget and 2nd I wanted to make this fast, so I went with the PVC-pipes.
    Now it is essentially to make an almost airtight device because you need the gas to stay in the pipe, so I had to buy plugs.

This is the things needed to make a Potato Launcher:

[​IMG]
    Here’s the main barrel. 500mm pipes are used in this project.
    A gun that uses 500mm ammo – wild!

[​IMG]