1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Displays Using Dell 2408 rev A01 as TV help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by hotnikkelz, 31 Jul 2009.

1. hotnikkelz

hotnikkelz What's a Dremel?

Alright me again, here's what's up.
    I want to watch cable on my monitor so what do i do?

The coaxial (from the cable) goes INTO the cable box thing...that i cannot play around with. There are a few jacks on it.
    There's the composite jack, and the L/R audio jacks. There's also another coaxial jack for OUT obviously -> TV/VCR or whatever. That's it.
    http://www.motorola.com/business/v/...f3b6110VgnVCM1000008406b00aRCRD&vgnextnoice=1

The monitor has options to support composite, component, s video, DVI, HDMI. Basically everything (no COAXIAL though). What is the route i should take? I don't need stellar quality (i don't have HD cable anyway). But it should be good, like basic CRT good is fine. I'm a noob at these things clearly and i would like to purchase the relvant cables but i dunno which ones. Should i get a TV card and plug the coaxial out into it and have the feature of being able to record videos as well? Open to all ideas, as long as it works. Thanks in advance.

edit:
    I think i'm going to go the TV card route

Last edited: 31 Jul 2009
  2. hotnikkelz

uhh...anyone?

3. JaredC01

JaredC01 Hardware Nut

A TV card will work okay, though it will eat up a few system resources... Assuming you're not using the computer for anything else at the time anyway, you'll be fine.

Assuming the cable box is like mine (looks the exact same, and by Motorola as well), the Composite (Yellow) output on the cable box should hook directly into the monitor... You will need to hook up the audio output to a set of amplified speakers to get audio though.

4. Zoon

Zoon Hunting Wabbits since the 80s