1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cooling Water Block Design

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by The_Beast, 18 Jun 2007.

1. The_Beast

The_Beast I like wood ಠ_ಠ

I have recently downloaded SketchUp 6 and have a lot of free time so I spend my days looking at bit-tech and designing water blocks. All of my blocks look good but would be extremely hard to mill and are flow killers. I want to make a good block.

So what makes a good water block??? What makes them so they are not flow killers??? How do you design a good water block??? What points do you want to focus water spray on???

2. Shadowed_fury

Shadowed_fury Minimodder

I'm no expert, but its more about flow over the most surface area possible. Hence why many designs now, have pins in the core area.

3. Stuey

Stuey You will be defenestrated!

Agreed. A while back they had channels over the CPU to hasten heat dissipation, but now the majority of high end waterblocks have pins as Shadwed Fury mentioned.

I think that waterblock design is mostly trial and error. Start by mimicking popular designs of current or older blocks.

You could also post jpegs of your designs for critique.

4. Archtronics

Archtronics Minimodder

Suraface area is a must but you need to balence this out with a flow because you may have a large surface area but it blocks the flow to much so this wouldnt be as effective its all about balencing out the factors.

If you really wanted an uber block make it out of silver lol.

5. Stuey

Why should he make it out of silver?

6. The_Beast

ok just let me upload them

7. capnPedro

capnPedro Hacker. Maker. Engineer.

It's a good conductor. But more importantly, it's all about the bling bling.

8. Stuey