1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cooling water cooling tips?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by xrain, 27 Jan 2004.

1. xrain

xrain Minimodder

I must admit i am new to the water cooling thing and im wondering what would be the best system to get. also some tips would be cool too thanx.
    -
    -
    --keep moddin :dremel:--

2. olv

olv he's so bright

You need to provide much more info:

1)what are you aims? overclocking/silence/looks/comination?

2)What are you wanting to cool? cpu/gfx/nb/hdd/psu...AMD/Intel/nvidia/ati.... etc

3)How much are you looking to spend?

3. xrain

xrain Minimodder

sorry for the lack of info
    im not completely sure i will beable to do it but, im plannin to cool the hdd,cpu, memory (if exsistant), the powersupply (if existant) and the grafix, it will be an intel p4 prossesor,im (hopeing) for a radion 9800 xt , and im going for overclocking and looks
    thanx :D
    -
    -xrain-

4. H2gO Flasher

H2gO Flasher What's a Dremel?

Fact :No thermal gain what so ever from cooling your memory chipset or sticks let alone H2O :nono:
    have you seen the dude who water cooled his peltiered DDR RAM
    strange how it ever caugh on I though

might add alittle WoW factor to those less informed however

You may like to consider starting with H2O CPU then overclock that first before progress to H2O GPU & NB etc

:sigh:

5. Darv

Darv Bling!!

As your in America I imagine you will want to go for a 1/2" setup. It will give you the best performance but IMHO doesnt look as tidy.

Memory cooling is a waste of time so I would forget that. PSU cooling is very expensive and there won't be much choice. (especially in 1/2 flavour) HDD coolers as far as I know only come in 3/8 and they aren't needed. As long as you have soem airflow goign across them you will be fine. NB cooling can be handled by a Zalman heatsink unless you are going for the extreme FSB's.