1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

water cooling

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by darklord, 11 Aug 2003.

1. darklord

darklord What's a Dremel?

ok , I've never done water cooling before but I am going to upgrade my server from a K6-500 to a duron 800 I have lying around the motherboard has the extra four holes in it and as it is a server I want it to be as quiet as poss. so has anybody any recomendations on a water cooling kit ( I am based in the UK )

darklord. :confused:

2. Kameleon

Kameleon is watching you...

Watercooling is a lot of expense just to cool a Duron, you're looking at £200-£500 for a decent setup, and because you're not gonna have a massive video card or be overclocking, you won't need GFX or NB cooling, so it will be a waste of money. If the only things in your computer making noise are your CPU fan and PSU, look into a Zalman flower (CNPS6000) for the CPU and a QuietPC or Antec PSU, for good silent performance.

3. Sid

Sid Banned

Who says he won't be overclocking? :D

Kameleon is probably right though, bit of a waste of money for that rig.

4. webchimp

webchimp What's a Dremel?

If you only want to watercool the CPU, what about the Asetek Waterchill kit reviewed on this site a while back.

Available at KustomPCs for £149.00. The only thing you should need to add to the kit is a bottle of de-ionised, de-mineralised or distilled water, which you should be able to pick up from a petrol station or car accessories shop for about 75 pence.

I've had the full kit with the extra GPU and Northbrigde waterblock for about a month now, it works faltlessly, was a doddle to set up and is virtually inaudible with the fan on the 7v setting.

5. darklord

i've been wandering around the web and came accross the thermal take water cooling ( about £80 from overclockers.co.uk ) , I know the waterchill one looks the biz but I just wondering if anyone knows if it is any good

6. Sid