1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Planning Where to buy acrylic?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by dave_c, 26 Oct 2009.

1. dave_c

dave_c Minimodder

ok so iv searched the forum to find no one has asked this before (hopefully not for a good reason)

iv been looking through the web after reading Brett Thomas' "a modders guide to acrylic"
    http://www.bit-tech.net/modding/2008/03/14/a_modders_guide_to_acrylic/1
    But every time i find a website that sells the stuff its quoting me between £120 and £500 per 1m square sheet.

Have i massively under-estimated the price of acrylic or am i looking at the wrong product?

i need the acryic so i can price up a "from scratch" case build iv based the design on using 10mm Acrylic, im new to this, so feel free to suggest otherwise.

this is the approx idea, oh and its a BIG case none of the MATX crap :D this is still very much in WIP stages:

[​IMG]

2. mrdbristol

mrdbristol Voided my warranty years ago

I get mine from Ebay.

Plasticonline-Redltd.

10mm thick is generally the most expensive, £72 / metre square

They can supply smaller sizes though.

5mm is £39 / square metre - I would consider using that with a solid rod acrylic framework

Cheers.

3. rowin4kicks

rowin4kicks a man walked into a bar ...

10mm acrylic or perspex is gonna cost a vast amount of money, be very heavy and take alot of time to cut and finish the edges.

look for 3-4mm acrylic or perspex sheet which should be alot easier to work with mate, just had a quick skim through the article you mentioned and the plastic shop ooks like a good bet.

4. dave_c

dave_c Minimodder

will 3-5mm not be very weak and flexible???

5. rowin4kicks

It will be weaker than 10mm, but if you have an inner frame to support the acryl then it should be fine.

If not then i would proably recommend 6mm or higher.

How exactly are you building the case?

6. Editor22

Editor22 E22 | Hex-Gear