1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Peripherals Which Sound Card for around £100?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by thetrashcanman, 23 Apr 2011.

1. thetrashcanman

thetrashcanman Angel headed hipsters

Right now here goes, I have very little clue about sound cards, but I know I want one as the on board audio is pretty pants, as I said in the title have about £100 to spend, less would be better, but I also don't mind going over if I feel the card is really worth it. Now I know bit tech recommend the asus Xonar DX pcie soundcard, which looks pretty good, (although then again not knowing anything, i may be wrong)

one thing is the card needs to be able to fit in either a pci e 1x slot or 4x, also I wouldn't mind if it was possible to be able to record using the sound card, or am a being a complete noob and this has nothing to do with the sound card what so ever and more related to the mic you use?

Anyway thanks for any help in advanced :)

2. IvanIvanovich

IvanIvanovich будет глотать вашу душу.

auzen x-fi bravura has some nice features at just within your budget.

while good mics are important, you need a decent card as well to avoid noise, distortions, etc introduced by a low end soundcard. unless you're playing death metal, punk or something similar where it likely won't make much difference honestly.

3. thetrashcanman

thetrashcanman Angel headed hipsters

Ha!, as it happens I do play a lot of metal/death metal, but thanks for the advice shall take a look at the auzen, which is quite ironic as I've just watched an unboxing of that :D

4. flame696

flame696 Terminating People Since 1980....

You can go for thr asus d2x brilliant soundcard available for around the £80 mark

5. Kroy

Kroy Member

how serious are you about the recording side of things?

6. GoodBytes

GoodBytes How many wifi's does it have?

My vote is on the ASUS Xonar d2x.