1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Zero Patience for Zero Tolerance

Discussion in 'Serious' started by Dad, 25 Nov 2003.

1. Dad

Dad You talkin to me?

Read full article here

As a parent of kids in middle school (6th & 8th grade), this zero-tolerance thing is way out of control. Yes, I understand that it was instituted to protect the kids among fears of the Columbine shootings and similar events. However, how far do people think is too far? Thankfully my kids go to a rural school which the biggest problem is smoking and you're seen as an outsider if you smoke pot. I know this because I graduated from the same school and have friends who are teachers there. If stuff such as this started happening within my kids school, I would pull them out and home-school them or send them to private school.

I know that the majority of people on these boards are of school age, what is your experience? Admittedly things will be different between the US and the UK and I'm really mostly interested in the US points of view, but hearing from our friends overseas would be interesting too...

2. Hiren

Hiren mind control Moderator

From my time at secondary (high) school I remember:
    No drug searches, no weapon searches in fact no searches of anykind. I went to a pretty rough school the cops didn't even bother coming when one student got beaten up with a chair.

3. Arthur2Sheds

Arthur2Sheds Jackson