Education I really gotta stop doing random Freelance Writing (A website feedback thread)

Discussion in 'General' started by Elton, 14 Aug 2012.

1. Elton

Elton Officially a Whisky Nerd

http://news-tune.com/

Given that it's a startup, I'd like to hear some feedback by some bit-tech folks. Since you guys are awesome and generally quite intelligent. :)

Last edited: 18 Aug 2012
  2. Draksis

Draksis What's a Dremel?

Positive: Neat and clean design, easy to navigate and intuative to understand. Nothing jumps up and down and screams at you to get a attention. A very nice surfing experiance.

Negative: Font seems to clash together in IE 8. Content is sparse, but I'm sure that cause It's just launched.

/2cents :thumb:

Elton likes this.
  3. Elton

Thanks. :thumb: Did you take a perusal at some of the content? This site just started about four days ago. :D I'm just a lowly writer there.

4. BentAnat

BentAnat Software Dev

Very quick, and a bit nitpicky:

Nice choice of font, and generaly pleasant.

Now for some questions/comments:
    The big RSS icon and big FB like box pushes the tabbed box below out of alignment. IMHO it'd look better if it aligned with the reight side.

The use of textured grey vs grey seems a bit arbitrary... maybe a bit more consistency there.

The header could be more... just more... it looks a bit unfinished.

Images at the top of articles stretch... ewww (seemingly not always though).

Tables aren't padded enough, making them a bit rubbish to read (example, the pricing on the steam sale page).

No permalinks to the articles?
    Sources could be compacted. No need for massive line spacing there.

In general, not all the articles look the same in terms of formatting. Some uniformity would go a long way there.

Elton likes this.
  5. Elton

Thanks, it's just a prelim starter, we're going to modify it. I'll edit the sources for the two articles I've written.

The feedback is actually very much appreciated. Cheers. :)

6. Picarro