Windows Incremental/Differential Backup Software

Discussion in 'Software' started by PureSilver, 8 Jun 2011.

1. PureSilver

PureSilver E-tailer Tailor

I might have asked around this topic before, but I now have a 3TB USB3 drive and USB3 'card in my machine and an urgent desire to backup. Windows' own backup utility is free, but is a mirror backup; that is, every single backup (for me) is of the order of 1.1TB when compressed, and takes hours and hours.

I want a much, much faster and more space efficient piece of software, with the ability to return individual files, folders and whole drives. What I'm envisioning is a huge initial backup, and then incremental/differential alterations that take of the order of minutes rather than years. If I have to I'll even pay for the damned thing.

Recommendations?

2. Zurechial

Zurechial Elitist

I'd recommend Macrium Reflect.
    I've been using it for a few years and I find it great, plus the support staff are very responsive and even provide custom scripts on occasion to suit user's needs (as the program supports VBScript and batch files for automation of tasks).

I'm not certain what the situation is with regards to a free version, but they do have something for download there. I bought a licensed copy in a special offer a while back.

3. Pookeyhead

Pookeyhead It's big, and it's clever.

Acronis.

Can do all of the above and much more. Fabulous piece of software.

I still do complete back ups though, despite having around 1.5TB as the server and the mirror server are on 24/7 and I schedule it to back up overnight, but incremental back ups are what you need if your desktop machine is backing up lots of files.

Your C Drive, if you back this up should be fast enough to do a full back up though (unless you're backing up to a USB 2.0 drive).

4. OCJunkie

OCJunkie OC your Dremel too