Development Learning Python

Discussion in 'Software' started by will_123, 2 Nov 2012.

1. will_123

will_123 Small childs brain in a big body

Anybody know any good books for this? I have pretty much worked my way through the code academy courses. Fancy getting myself a book on the subject. O'Reily seems to be the one that is advised for most things? Anybody got any knowledge on this subject?

Thanks

2. Matticus

Matticus ...

Do you know any other languages or is Python your first?

I have been a developer since finishing Uni nearly 3 years ago and so know programming pretty well. Mainly web stuff, so PHP, .Net, javascript etc. I recently had a go at Python for a bit of fun, because I know programming already it wasn't too hard just to Google how to do X in Python to get hints at syntax and default function names.

If you are a non programmer check this out.

If you are a programmer, do as I did, but also check this out.

3. Dae314

Dae314 What's a Dremel?

Python's become a pretty popular language, and there's tons and tons of tutorials all around the web. Unless there's a specific reason why you want to get a book, I would go with something online just because it's free and *may* be more up to date.

I personally learned python from http://getpython3.com/diveintopython3/

However, that site might be a tiny bit out of date since I think it uses Python 3.2 and the newest that just got released is python 3.3. Of course the python docs are a fine tutorial too.

Sorry I can't make a better recommendation on paper books... I didn't use one so I really can't tell you which are good :p. By the time I was learning python I had already learned several other languages, and I was at the point where I could have probably just kept the docs open while I coded and been fine...

4. will_123